How excitement!

It’s most unusual for me to be up early in the morning, and I’m far from being an insomniac, but I gave up on the struggle for sleep at 5am today. Perhaps it’s the excitement of going into town to cast a pre-poll vote… I’ll be in Sydney on election weekend (and there’s an actually exciting election night party LP is hosting along with 2SER and New Matilda that everyone’s invited to) so I get to do the deed early. I was thinking last night the first time I voted in a federal election was in 1987. Interestingly, that was the last one John Howard lost. Anyway, I doubt it’s the excitement of heading out to uni to pick up essays to mark, particularly since semester having ended, Griffith Uni no longer pay me. It’s probably that I’m still crook.

So, at a loss for anything to do, I went for a very pleasant stroll along the river. And I took my camera. When the sun was out, at least, it was a really beautiful morning! Pics over the fold – as always, if you want to see a bigger version, click on the image then hit the full view link once you’re inside the gallery.

Update: Oopsy! Obviously this standard wordpress blog doesn’t support embedded flash like LP proper! Incidentally, we’re almost done with the big server move so we’ll be going home soon. If you’d like to see the photos, please click on the image name hyperlinks to get into the gallery.

New Farm Park V by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Breakfast by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Sydney Street ferry by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Merthyr Park by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Story Bridge II by *phenomenologist on deviantART

The friendly street by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Stretching by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Posted in culture, federal election '07, life
11 comments on “How excitement!
  1. waterdragon says:

    Discovered the restorative effect of early voting early years ago. A weight goes off the shoulders and one can laugh at those still suffering the angst of voter indecision. 🙂
    It was also great listening to Howard plead for my vote at the campaign launch, knowing it was forever out of his reach!

  2. mbahnisch says:

    Yes, a very nice feeling indeed!

  3. jinmaro says:

    “As for verandahs. Well, their evocation of the raised tent flap gives the game away completely. They are a formal concession that you are just one step up from nomads.” – David Malouf

  4. bahnischba says:

    That’s an excellent pic of the poinciana trees in New Farm Park, Mark. I have a feeling they may be out earlier than they used to be.

  5. mbahnisch says:

    Thanks, Brian, they’re beautiful at the moment.

    And nice quote, jinmaro!

  6. Liam Hogan says:

    For the facebook conscientious objectors, what are the election night party details?

  7. mbahnisch says:

    6pm, The Bat & Ball, 495 Cleveland Street, Surry Hills.

  8. waterdragon says:

    Hope you all have a great party. For us out in the rural/regional wilderness, it’s harder to get together – but there sure will be some glorious hangovers if Howard goes!

  9. mbahnisch says:

    Well, I hope you have a great night too, waterdragon!

  10. Helen says:

    Spewin’.
    There’s a Melbourne bloggers party on but I won’t be able to make it.

    *Sulks*

  11. […] pieces in advance for Crikey, PollieGraph and Unleashed, so as far as I’m concerned, having voted last week, my election’s over bar the counting! I won’t be around the intertubes very much for a […]

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
