It’s not what you think

I couldn’t resist clicking through when my gmail popped up a text ad for a site called imisshoward.com. Go check it out! For some unknown reason, I found it really funny!

Do you miss Howard? Tell us. Your story may be the one that inspires us to send you a gorgeous bunch of flowers.

missing howard

Posted in federal election '07
31 comments on “It’s not what you think
  1. Zarquon says:

    After the election, I recommend a stay at Howards End B&B in Cape Town.

  2. anthony says:

    But it’s too late to say he’s sorry
    How would he know why should he care
    Please don’t bother tryin’ to find him
    He’s not there

  3. aidan says:

    Astroturfing?

  4. Gaz says:

    But it’s too late to say he’s sorry
    How would he know why should he care
    Please don’t bother tryin’ to find him
    He’s not there

    I like the way he power walks
    the fact he’s got no hair
    I like his mandable jaw
    But he’s not there

    In the Key of A is good.

  5. mbahnisch says:

    Astroturfing?

    Most likely.

  6. anthony says:

    Zombie Chorus!

    He kept us safe and sound
    From people poor and brown
    But he’s not there

  7. Gaz says:

    Zombie Chorus!

    And a great song it was,a hit if my memory serves me well.

  8. Guido says:

    I feel sorry for the site’s owners. It’s about missing a fashion label called Howard Showers and they may be swamped with messages about the Prime Minister.

    Anyway….isn’t this a pit premature?

  9. kimberella says:

    Nope. We have to will the victory…

  10. FDB says:

    A great song indeed Anthony and Gaz. Just please don’t inflict the gopdawful Santana version on me. Or anyone. Or anything by Santana.

  11. Gaz says:

    “Or anything by Santana.”

    “Well Alright” written Buddy Holly,covered by Carlos great licks.

  12. anthony says:

    “Anyway….isn’t this a pit premature?”

    A wodge of pineapples with the bookie says no. [wills]

    [completely off topic: I was waiting for my coffee today and listening to a cover version of Hall and Oates ‘Maneater’ and it was worse]

  13. mbahnisch says:

    Hard to believe! (the Hall & Oates cover, that is…)

  14. FDB says:

    ““Well Alright” written Buddy Holly,covered by Carlos great licks.”

    That was Blind Faith, no?

    I WILL NOT HEAR A WORD AGAINST HALL AND OATES!!!!

    SHOW ME THE EVIDENCE!!!!

  15. Gaz says:

    “That was Blind Faith, no?”

    No! Carlos Santana.

    Hall and Oats sound like a real estate company.

    Even John Howard wouldn’t play that pap.I reckon he’d be more “I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts” Rodent.

  16. Gaz says:

    “I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts”

    Sorry that should read”Chad Morgan”

  17. FDB says:

    Well I liked Blind Faith’s version better, at risk of straying off topic. Anyway, I’ve never really taken Santana seriously except as a hired gun on guitar – the songs are always ponderous squeaky-clean latinified pap versions of otherwise good songs.

    Gimme the coked-up majesty of some good honest Hall and Oates pap any day.

  18. Su says:

    The Zombie Chorus! command got me thinking of the Tall Dwarve’s “Brain that wouldn’t die”. Seems kind of apt (until late saturday at least).

  19. Gaz says:

    “at risk of straying off topic. Anyway, I’ve never really taken Santana seriously except as a hired gun on guitar -”

    Agreed,but as you know music is/will always be, personal taste.He doesn’t do a real lot for me,but talent is talent Carlos Santana or Mozart.

    I’m sure Hall and Oats will have a place in history some where,but they are not in the same league as Santana musically,just an opinion mind you.

  20. FDB says:

    Instrumentally, I’d agree, but I’m not sure if Carlos ever wrote a song. Certainly not one in the league of I Can’t Go For That. 😉

  21. Gaz says:

    “Instrumentally, I’d agree,”

    The only song for me of any note Carlos wrote was, “Evil Ways” and then possibly “Persuassion”

    My opinion on any music will be based on it’s melodic appeal and rhythm,hence Hall and Oats doesn’t do a lot for me.I was a pro guitarist for twenty years playing sixty’s and heavy rock music,in various bands. So my music has to be punched through a 100 watt marshall stack,with max overdrive and a tasty bit of feedback.

    Mostly in major power chords my fav being E nothin quite like it.Hall and Oats may have talent but to me, it is pap.

  22. FDB says:

    Oh, me too. I just like pap!

    And also every other sort of music. Not the right person to have a discerning discussion with.

  23. Gaz says:

    And also every other sort of music. Not the right person to have a discerning discussion with.

    Hey be nice!I just through tellin ya it’s personal taste.You don’t have to be a muso to have an opinion.

  24. glen says:

    BTW mark or other admins the rss feed from the old site stop working a while ago!

  25. phil says:

    Ah Zombie chorus! Yeah yeah – the big intake of breath just before “her voice was soft and cool” the first time around. Rod Argent, later of “Something in the Air”…

    Anyway, back on topic, to match:

    He kept us safe and sound
    From people poor and brown
    But he’s not there

    I suggest:

    He kept the nasties out!
    He’s got a wicked pout!
    But he’s not there!!

    or perhaps

    “Economy is strong!
    Everything else is wrong!
    And he’s not there!

    go for it…

  26. Gaz says:

    Well some one told me about Rudd
    the color of his hair
    Well some one told me about Rudd
    the color of his hair.

    It’s to late for Howard’s sorry now
    the political damage has been truly done
    Its to late to say Howards sorry now
    He’s a rotten bald headed bum

    I like the way Rudd combs his hair
    his policy’s are clear and bright
    Costello is only full of spite
    But Howard has no hair .
    But Howard has no hairrrrrrrrrrrr.

    Yea I know it’s lame.But i’m pissed.

  27. FDB says:

    Hey Gaz – I am a muso. I didn’t mean nothin’ neither. I really do like any style of music, and my cheese tolerance is probably beyond most. But believe me I like it raw too. Ears still ringing from the rehearsal room this very minute.

  28. Gaz says:

    Hey Gaz – I am a muso.

    Jesus Mary and Joseph thank God for that,You know what that means?me and you are the only two sane bastards on here.

    I have titinitus(is that how you spell it?)from years of heavy rock,I live in Perth,I dont know where you are?but open your window I will play some Stevie Ray

    Can you hear it?

  29. FDB says:

    Not from Carlton I’m afraid. Nor from next door, truth be told. I just got a new snare drum and was putting it through its paces. I’m ringing right along with you.

  30. Gaz says:

    “I’m ringing right along with you’

    The trouble is ,as you know, once you start wearing plugs it aint the same.

  31. Carmen says:

    Hey Kimberella,

    Thanks for blogging about us on the Larvatus Prodeo blog! Email my mate janeyw@brainmates.com.au your email/contact details because she’s helping us send out roses and we would love for you to receive a bunch!

    xx Carmen

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
