Saturday morning drinks in London

Well, my part in this election is over. Like many other Australians in the UK I made my way to London to visit Australia House to cast my ballot. Also like many other Australians in these parts I’ll be tied into satellite TV and teh intertubes on Saturday morning to follow the vote count.

I’ll be liveblogging the coverage from the ALP abroad party in London. If there are any LP readers in London on Saturday come along and say hi – I’ll be the one that looks like a non-cartoon version of my gravatar with their face either buried in a pint or a laptop screen.

So, given that this election potentially marks a momentous occasion for all Australians everywhere, does anyone have any good drinking games to get us through the count?

Here are some potential rules:

  • Whenever a commenter mentions the words “Eden-Monaro” and “bellweather” in the same sentence you must drink.
  • Whenever Maxine McKew gets a mention, drink.
  • Whenever the phrase “me-too” is used, drink.
  • If the government changes hands drink and cheer!

Any other suggestions, leave them in the comments…

About

Michael (mick) Bremner is a displaced Australian postdoctoral researcher in the field of quantum information science and an occasional blogger. I'm currently living in Hannover, Germany, though seem to spend half my life on the road.

Posted in announcements, blogosphere, culture, federal election '07, media, politics
8 comments on “Saturday morning drinks in London
  1. Guy says:

    I’m in London as well – not sure if I will make it to the ALP Abroad do, but we’ll see how I feel tomorrow morning. 😉

  2. Graham Bell says:

    Mick and Guy:
    I realize there has been a flight of talent from Australia since the Corrigan and NFF waterfront dispute set the tone in Australia for employment bullying, career stagnation and productivity lowering and innovation prevention …. but I wonder how many of our best-and-brightest will return from London and the rest of the EU if Labor does win?

    Have a drink if Mr J W Howard is invited to a little heart-to-heart chat with his Liberals mates on Sunday [b.y.o. cutlery – don’t worry about forks and spoons though].

    Have a drink in memory of Peter Andren too [see, Guy Fawkes wasn’t the only honest man to go into parliament after all]. 😀

  3. Arch C says:

    Hey Mick, are you still based in Bristol? If so, I’ll be up there next week. Maybe we can catch up for a celebratory (touch wood) drink?

  4. Guy says:

    Hmm. There might be a few Graham, but I think most people who have flown the coop overseas have done so for either their careers or to be closer to all Europe has to offer, or both.

    I’ve only been away for a few months, and I must say that the infuriation caused by the fact that Howard et al are still being their usual selves at home is not geographically constrained. 🙂

  5. mick says:

    Hi Arch C, yes I am based in Bristol but I travel like a fiend. Contact me on Facebook and let me know when you are about.

    Graham, I think that many will come back. I know of a few already that like the sound of the ALP’s proposed Future Fellowships.

  6. GregM says:

    “I realize there has been a flight of talent from Australia since the Corrigan and NFF waterfront dispute set the tone in Australia for employment bullying, career stagnation and productivity lowering and innovation prevention …. but I wonder how many of our best-and-brightest will return from London and the rest of the EU if Labor does win?”

    Planet Earth to Graham Bell. The Maritime Union were the gold standard of employment bullying, career stagnation, productivity lowering and innovation prevention. A more foul bunch of destructive self-serving bastards I cannot think of. Anyone who left Australia because of their downfall certainly didn’t do so because they had any talent and those people, if there are any, are most welcome to stay away until hell freezes over. Still, now you mention it, it does raise the question of how many second-rate rent seekers will return from London or wherever to get their snout in the public trough if Labor does win.

  7. Justin says:

    Interesting, Greg. I came home in recent days….partially influenced by situation, but more influenced by hope. I certainly left out of despair…The public trough is irrelevant to me – I graduated into, and have always worked in 100% employment in said trough. But I hope to come back to better provisions and a chance of being relevant. we shall see.

  8. Graham Bell says:

    GregM [on 6]:
    L-O-L 😀 Next time you travel out of Australia, talk with your fellow passengers [ooops, nearly said “fellow travellers”]; it could be an enlightening new experience for you. Anectdotal, of course, but can’t help feel that every plane leaving Australia is chock-a-block full of our best-and-brightest tradesmen, nurses, accountants, teachers, etc., etc. leaving Australia for the long term. I mentioned the waterfront dispute only because it was the event that seemed to be the tipping point, for some, between going overseas for a few years experience then returning and going overseas and not coming back. [Didn’t speak to any of the second-rate rent-seekers you mentioned, they all travel Business Class where they can grope the cabin staff and chunder all over their trays. 🙂 yuk-yuk ]

    Any sociologists want to do another study on the loss of talent?

    Mick:
    Did have several drinks with friends at appropriate moments during the election tally. Rudd might turn out to be rough and nasty but it was nice to see Howard go.

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
