Lazy Sunday!

Since we don’t live by politix alone (I sincerely hope), what did people get up to this weekend? Join in, share some tales, regulars and lurkers all!

I was still feeling pretty worn out post-election and Sydney visit until today, so have had a fairly quiet one. I had a light dinner at Pane e Vino in town with a friend on Friday night (very nice tomato and fetta soup!), and went to see Tripod at the Tivoli last night. Those boys are very funny live, so if you’re in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide or Perth, I’d thoroughly recommend going to see “Smaller than Jesus”… Today I had an article to write for the Higher Ed, and tonight I’m going to kick back with some dvds. I’m continuing my project of documenting my local ‘hood photographically, so if you’re interested in seeing the pics, follow the links beneath the fold then click “full view” once you’re in the gallery.

story bridge by phenomenologist


Valley sunset by *phenomenologist on deviantART

River view and riverwalk by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Lazy Sunday X by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Story Bridge IV by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Story Bridge III by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Tree houses by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Ship house by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Purple house II by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Alibi Room by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Cioccolato by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Here comes the sun by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Teneriffe Hill afternoon light by *phenomenologist on deviantART

Posted in culture, fun, life, sociology
43 comments on “Lazy Sunday!
  1. Matt C says:

    I went to Amplifier bar, an old favourite in Perth that has now turned a corner towards something quite terrible. Never again.

  2. bjohns says:

    Today I was invited to a party. It was RSVP yesterday. Are there such things as backhanded invites? I’ll go anyway because I like the excitement of gatecrashing.

  3. Paul Burns says:

    Yesterday was a pretty quite day. heard I’m getting another book to review on the history of Australian anthropology. Haven’t even started on the 3 books I’ve got to review on the Australian publishing industry and the media and Vietnam, at least not properly. Have just dipped into them. Blogged a bit, read rest of Fusiliers, a new book I’ve got on the military history of the American Revolution, watched a crap DVD and usual Saturday night ABC TV.
    Sunday, watched Insiders. Nelson gets verbal diahorrea worse then Beaselet. He won’t last long. News reports indicate Turnbull hasn’t taken well to not being elected leader, enraged by the politics behind it, and Nelson being soppy. blogged a bit, started on Benjamin Franklin’s Autobiography, after dipping into extracts from Poor Richard’s Almanac. The latter was a bit disappointing after the various things I’d read about it.
    Watched Jindabyne on DVD. Magnificent Aussie movie. Recommend it highly to anyone who hasn’t seen it.Blogged a bit. Read more of Franklin’s Autobiography, which I’m really enjoying. Watched Sunday night TV. Loved Jane Eyre. Really like the book roo, except for the last 50 odd pages of Evangelical Protestantism.From memory sort of lets you down flat. I don’t like any of Charlottes other books at all, but am a big fan of Wuthering Heights and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (the books). Tried to watch The Pledge, but I’d already seen it and couldn’t stand the ads.

  4. Iain says:

    Slept in, then battled through freezing rain and wind to have brunch with some friends on the other side of town (Cambridge, so other side of town is not very far). Ate very greasy “Full English” breakfast, then wished I hadn’t. Then went back to the flat to dry out/warm up, with maybe a bit more sleep.

  5. tigtog says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed Jane Eyre as well, after my quiet day mostly in (silly neck playing up, so not up to much gardening even). Loved the title actor – we shall be seeing more of her!

    Reading a book so I can discuss it with the offspring – Deltora Quest. Not bad for youth-oriented fantasy: some decent characterisation as they go on with their quest, and some nice puzzles to challenge readers to solve them before the characters do.

    Played with photos stored on the ‘puter, crunched some code for a website in the arvo. Very peaceful.

  6. gandhi says:

    Another great pic, Mark. I know Brisvegans love the Storey Bridge, but wouldn’t it be great to see ALL the city bridges converted to tunnels, and the whole riverside extended into one giant garden?

    Now if only we could do that in a fiscally responsible, environmentally-friendly way….!

  7. David Rubie's cat says:

    Miss kitty wakes up, hears doggie being fed. Door opens HI MR FOOD GOTTA RUN GOT STUFF TO DO.

    Miss kitty runs and jumps and runs and runs and jumps and climbs and is tired and it’s sunny she sleeps.

    Miss kitty is awake! Miss kitty plays with butterfly. Butterfly fly butterfly miss kitty says sleep now butterfly sleep butterfly sleep sleep sleep. Butterfly sleeps now. Miss kitty brings wonderful sleep to butterfly. Butterfly is very asleep. Miss kitty picks up butterfly delicately bring to Mr Food. Mr Food takes precious gift of sleepy butterfly. Butterfly dreams of miss kitty bringing gift of sleep. Miss kitty sleep now.

    Miss kitty is awake! Mr Food makes a lap! Miss kitty jumps in lap she purrrs she makes dough she purrs she rubs she purrs she makes precious gift of drooooool. Oh she purrs, she drools, oh she offers tummy, Mr Food rubs tummy miss kitty purrs she drools she oh miss kitty oh mr food oh miss kitty oh! oh! oh! she sleeps.

    Miss kitty is hungry waits for Mr Food. Mr food makes whistle miss kitty runs she runs she runs she gets food. Wait! Mr Food tricks miss kitty he shuts the door. Miss kitty eats food and has drinks and settles into basket and she waits and she waits and she sleeps. Miss kitty dreams of gift of sleep and give sleep to butterfly oh wonderful sleep.

  8. Paul Burns says:

    David Rubie’s Cat,
    You are delightful. And literate too.

  9. FDB says:

    What happened to Amplifier, MattC?

  10. mbahnisch says:

    Now if only we could do that in a fiscally responsible, environmentally-friendly way….!

    As you probably know gandhi, we’re getting the tunnels but not in an environmentally-friendly way!

  11. j_p_z says:

    Weekend? It is to laugh! I’ve been deathly sick all weekend long, bumbling about the house shivering, wrapped in so many layers of bathrobes and blankets that I look like Cousin It from the Addams Family.

    Tried watching something stupid like “Transformers” to pass the time while waiting to mend, but that insufferable kid Shia LaBouef is so irritating, he even ruined the normally enjoyable spectacle of giant robots wrecking stuff. Where is the justice?! (Although you can almost sort of forgive any movie that starts out with a Biblical kind of voice intoning: “Before Time, there was… The Cube.”)

    Started listening again to early Beatles stuff (nothing after 1966) and have begun to sort of appreciate Ringo as a drummer. Since I’m not really a good technical judge of drumming, I’ll ask those who are: is Ringo a brilliant original stylist, or is he a guy who cleverly exploited his own limitations? He can’t swing, he can barely rock, so instead he does some weird sui generis thing that’s completely original and unexpected. Is that visionary, or just good luck?

    Also, I can’t help noticing now that the George Harrison song on Revolver “I Want to Tell You” is such a perfect pastiche of all aspects of the Beatles’ sonic style, it almost seems like a parody done by Neil Innes and Christopher Guest. Which is not a bad thing, necessarily. I like the song a lot, it’s just that it so out-Lennons and out-McCartneys the actual Lennon and McCartney, which I find interesting.

  12. FDB says:

    “is Ringo a brilliant original stylist, or is he a guy who cleverly exploited his own limitations? He can’t swing, he can barely rock, so instead he does some weird sui generis thing that’s completely original and unexpected. Is that visionary, or just good luck?”

    Zounds! A topic on which I can stop merely pretending to know something!

    I reckon he’s of the Mick Fleetwood/Levon Helm school – he plays the song, rather than just driving the rhythm section. He certainly wasn’t much with the chops, but his little rhetorical flourishes on toms (sometimes overdubbed) were great, and his cymbal playing showed heaps of variation – some songs an all-out assault, some only 2 or 3 crashes at crucial moments.

    Ringo himself aside, another aspect is the production of course. People hadn’t heard drums that sounded like Ringo’s ever before. [Sorry if this nerds out a bit, but it’s hard to do 1960s drum production for dummies in a blog comment]. Heavy use of gates, compressors and tape saturation (distortion) would colour the sound and do sometimes radical things to the dynamic range. This was in turn made effective through the use of both distant (ambient) miking of the whole kit and close miking of individual components. The close mics can be EQed and compressed to tighten up the sound and make it punchy and “tuned”, while compressing the overhead and/or room mikes heavily creates that full, relentless driving sound (Ticket to Ride, Tomorrow Never Knows), and the characteristic “sucking” or “breathing” sound of the cymbals’ volume being shoved up and down every time the kick or snare makes the compressor work a bit harder. [/audionerd]

    “Also, I can’t help noticing now that the George Harrison song on Revolver “I Want to Tell You” is such a perfect pastiche of all aspects of the Beatles’ sonic style, it almost seems like a parody done by Neil Innes and Christopher Guest.”

    Or just anything by Jeff Lynne?

  13. FDB says:

    Coincidentally enough, one of my students has just pitched a topic to me for his major practical project – trying to replicate the sounds of the drums on A Day in the Life.

    Also coincidentally enough (too much?) I spent my “lazy” Sunday in a studio trying to get frickin’ ProTools plugins to achieve pretty much the effect I’m talking about above. Give me knobs and valves any day.

  14. mbahnisch says:

    Added some more photos (including a bit of public Christmas/festive season stuff) from my peregrination to and from the QUT library today if anyone’s interested:

    http://phenomenologist.deviantart.com/gallery/

    My next big project post-election is writing up that pesky PhD thesis thing before Feb!

  15. mbahnisch says:

    Ps, I’m glad I’m going out to eat soon, FDB. That freakin gravatar is making me hungry!

  16. FDB says:

    Yeah, well yours isn’t doing wonders for my once-weekly night off the sauce either!

  17. j_p_z says:

    FDB — thanks for the insights about audio and Ringo &c.

    oh, btw, I’ve recently discovered a very cool and unusual little musical subculture in NY that I think you’d really enjoy when you visit (including my new favorite band, who are almost completely unknown so far). You can impress your hosts with your insider’s edge, if you feel like it. Only issue is, some of the places I’m going to recommend are very small and some are in different parts of Brooklyn. (A lot of the time I try to avoid telling out-of-towners to visit the boroughs if they don’t have a native guide, b/c the streets aren’t as logical as in Manhattan, subway stops can be confusing, and you can’t hail a cab right on the street, you have to know how to call a car.) But if your hosts are familiar w/ the boroughs, it won’t be so hard. Remind me when you’re getting closer to arrival, and I’ll give you more details, and hopefully by then there will also be some YouTube videos of some of this stuff.

  18. FDB says:

    Previously unknown cool acts is PRECISELY what I had in mind in our last exchange JPZ – nice one. I’m sure we can negotiate Brooklyn okay, we were planning on heading off the island anyway for a few outings.

    Arrival’s getting pretty close now – I’ll contact LP admin for your email and you’ll be hearing from me.

    Cheers!

  19. Nabakov says:

    “I spent my “lazy” Sunday in a studio trying to get frickin’ ProTools plugins to achieve pretty much the effect I’m talking about above. Give me knobs and valves any day.”

    Yes, sometimes if you want that Mesa Boogie amp in the shower stall sound, you have to put the the Mesa Boogie amp in the shower stall.

    And jpz, take FDB and co for a steak, a bottle of good Napa Valley Cab Sav, some rice pudding and a cigar at Grange Hall if it’s still going.

    Also, while in NYC, FDB try and catch the Staten Island Ferry. Not to go to Staten Island but just for the spectacular views of the Big Apple. And see if you catch a coupe of hours at the FRick, one of the city’s most underrated museums, not least for the quiet frog pool room in the middle. The Cathedral of Saint John the Divine is also worth a butchers as is the Strand Bookstore (provided you’re unfussed about excess baggage limits returning home with 40 books).

  20. Nabakov says:

    “he plays the song, rather than just driving the rhythm section”

    A shrewd observation that never quite occurred to me like that before. Now, I think about it, you could probably say the same about Bonham at his best. Whereas Moon wanted to be the song and Watts just thought “fuck it, they’ll find and follow me eventually”.

  21. mbahnisch says:

    Yeah, well yours isn’t doing wonders for my once-weekly night off the sauce either!

    Well, I had a glass of tokay for you at dinner, FDB. Only one, mind, since it’s a school night and all and not all of us have Nabs’ constitution…

  22. Nabakov says:

    “Nabs’ constitution”

    1st Amendment: That tokay should only be consumed after dinner, not at dinner.
    2nd Amendment: That the right of the people bear and use mobile phones in public places should be severely abridged. Especially during the Barcarolle in a live performance of Tales of Hoffman
    3rd Amendment: Oh fuck it, just go and do whatever you want. Not like I’m a living document or anything.

  23. David Rubie says:

    No Fifth amendment Nabakov?

    Something like: Yes it’s 3AM and I’m too drunk to tell you where I’ve been? Now hand me that bottle of scotch and maybe a bucket.

    I like to call it “taking the fifth” hardy har har.

  24. mbahnisch says:

    That tokay should only be consumed after dinner, not at dinner.

    Oh, it was. The dinner (turkey bricasee) was accompanied by a Clare Valley riesling, and the tokay went with dessert and a long black.

  25. anthony says:

    I don’t know if my musical alignment with the folks is the result of some aligned cohabiting minstrel cycle (Mr Starr if you’d please – boom tish) but I was listening to Abbey Road over dinner, which isn’t something I do a lot and I’d like to point out that
    – Ringo is a confident workaday drummer who when out of his comfort zone as a lyricist, creates such gems as Octopus’s Garden
    – I’ve revised my above drumming opinion of Ringo thanks to the very sexy audionerd talk of FDB
    – I Want You is very metal.

    Sunday I spent actually making music. Due to his sleeping kids we went over to my co-guitarists newly bought empty house and as I was wrestling my Marshall (and fack me it’s heavy) out of the Honda Jazz Tour Van and into the house, the neighbour stuck their head out and asked if we were moving in. ‘Ahmm no we’re just ahmm’ actually I can’t remember what I said, I tend to just repeat the last three words of any question and laugh. Anyway now we have a 45 minute set:
    1: a four minute three chord verse- three chord chorus rockarama
    2: a fourty one minute G A based trance delay pedal rock experience which we have described as like taking drugs but not really taking drugs.

    Great plans, we now require

    – a sofa
    – a fridge
    – a bassist

    and it will be the glorious empty house summer of rock. (and mesa boogie amps will be involved)

    Oh yeah I bought a car too. Wooh!

  26. Nabakov says:

    “- a sofa
    – a fridge
    – a bassist”

    and a barbie, a mullomatic and a barely used shower stall.

  27. Nabakov says:

    “a fourty one minute G A based trance delay pedal rock experience which we have described as like taking drugs but not really taking drugs.”

    All blokes have at least one space metal jazz funk odyssey in them that should be realised at least once. But only for one summer and while the women and children are safely sequestered across town.

  28. anthony says:

    I need to spend less thought on wants and more on needs.

  29. Nabakov says:

    “who when out of his comfort zone as a lyricist”

    Bit like saying “Say, have you seen the banjo player’s new porsche?”

  30. mbahnisch says:

    Photographic evidence – Tokay and dessert!

  31. FDB says:

    Mark:

    “The dinner (turkey bricasee) was accompanied by a Clare Valley riesling, and the tokay went with dessert and a long black.”

    Bricasee? WTF? I’m intrigued, unless it was a typo. Even then really, what with a fair gap betwixt the keys. Thanks for representin’ anyway, but the night off had to be postponed this week anyway. I can’t remember why.

    That dessert looks supoib. (I’m practicing for my JPZ-sponsored trip to Brooklyn).

    Nabs:

    Ta for the NYC tips. If anyone else has any, keep ’em coming – last time I was there was with a girl suffering acute unpredictable panic attacks, so we didn’t actually get to see much. Ah, crazy wimmins – so fine, so crazy.. To painful memories!

    Anthony:

    Rock on. If I were still a resident of that fine city, I’d be wondering if you need an Eno-style synth/effects guy. Sounds like it’d be right up my alley. I Want You is indeed a heavy piece of work… boom tish!

    I take it “very metal” is a Vyvyan reference?

    “- a sofa
    – a fridge
    – a bassist”

    And…

    just a coupla quarts of beer,
    to fix it so the intonation
    would not offend the ear…

  32. FDB says:

    Hey Mark (or other passing LP adminner), could someone email me with JPZ’s email address? He’s given expess permission yada yada

  33. FDB says:

    express even.

  34. j_p_z says:

    espresso.

  35. FDB says:

    Well I’ve gone straight to the source(-ey wench) and now have your email, so expect a missive soon.

    Cheers Anna.

    And sorry about the wench crack. And the wench crack crack.

    I humbly await a spanking in the customary position.

  36. mbahnisch says:

    Bricasee? WTF? I’m intrigued, unless it was a typo.

    Not sure of the spelling! I’ll check the menu next time I wander past and get back to you. It’s just a few blocks away from me and seriously one of the best restaurants in Brissie – and good value – it’s been leapfrogged by all the $30 is the new $20 main joints.

  37. FDB says:

    Maybe it’s a B(risbane f)ricasee? Now I’m extra intrigued.

    Perhaps you could describe the ruckus dish?

  38. mbahnisch says:

    I can do better than that. Here’s a photo:

    And you’re quite right of course. I’ve just checked the menu online:

    Turkey fricassée, vermouth, Swiss brown mushrooms, potato-macadamia gratin, asparagus

    http://www.continentalcafe.com.au/menu.htm

    It was quite yummy!

  39. FDB says:

    Damn! Sounds and looks like a winner.

    I’m a bit of a fan of turkey outside the traditional “bake it for a whole afternoon and pray it doesn’t dry out then eat it when it’s stiflingly hot and what you really want is a salad” paradigm. That paradigm like, totally sucks.

    Next time you’re shopping for a barbecue, look for the turkey leg chops that Coles and Woolies stock. You can basically treat them just like a lamb leg chop (aka “target chop”, “chump chop”) and they grease up real good, but taste of turkey. Cheap too!

  40. mbahnisch says:

    Yes, I’ll certainly raise a glass to toast the New Turkey Paradigm!

  41. Liam Hogan says:

    Good name for a band, that.

  42. FDB says:

    I dunno, sounds like a certain Bird might already have dibs.

  43. FDB says:

    Graeme Bird and the New Turkey Paradigm…

    That’d work I reckon. He’s got pretty good taste in music too.

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
