It’s official: New Zealanders hate Snoopy

christmas-snoopy-lights-tree.jpg

I’ve put this post in the “levity” category, however, I note Kimberella’s Culture Wars…now and forever! was also placed in “levity”, so perhaps this post should be in “so bloody shallow even Paris and Darlene would find it lacking depth”.

Anyway, readers of The New Zealand Herald have had their say (baaa”) about what they think are the worst Christmas songs ever in the history of the earth, world, universe etc:

Snoopy’s Christmas – The Royal Guardsman (1966)
Feliz Navidad – Jose Feliciano (1970)
Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer – Randy Brooks (1979)
Santa Never Made It Into Darwin – Bill & Boyd (1975)
Mistletoe and Wine – Cliff Richards (1988)
The Christmas Song – Alvin and the Chipmunks (1981)

Before you think that New Zealanders have got brilliant taste (unlikely, but just in case) for hating the above, this is what they thought were the best Christmas songs:

All I Want for Christmas – Mariah Carey (1994)
Last Christmas (I gave you my heart) – Wham (1984)
Fairytale of New York – The Pogues featuring Kirsty McColl (1987)
Christmas Is All Around Us – Bill Nighy – as Billy Mack in Love Actually (2003)
Do They Know It’s Christmas Time At All? – Band Aid (1984)
Happy Christmas (War Is Over) – John Lennon (1971)
You’re a Mean One Mr Grinch – Thurl Ravenscroft (1966)

Why they’d hate those cute little chipmunks and love Mariah Carey is beyond me. Christmas works of “art” are often so bad that Jesus must wish his birthday was on a different day. It should be pointed out that watching It’s a Wonderful Life remains one of the best ways to spend a Christmas night. Anyway, my cat and I would like to take this opportunity to wish LP readers all the best for the holiday season.

spotty.jpg

Merry Christmas from Spotty

Posted in levity
17 comments on “It’s official: New Zealanders hate Snoopy
  1. David says:

    It’s not all bad – “Fairytale of New York” is a pretty good song, although I must admit it never occurred to me to classify it as a Christmas song (possibly because it’s not mawkish and saccharrine).

  2. Darlene says:

    Yes, I was being a bit silly for dramatic effect. The Pogues were cool, as was the late Kirsty McColl.

    Happy hols, David.

  3. dylwah says:

    I hope that they are listening to the proper version. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7150693.stm

  4. dylwah says:

    ps happy saturnalia

  5. Darlene says:

    Yes, they better be listening to the version with the swear words.

    Cheers, dylwah.

    Have a good ‘un.

  6. Paul Burns says:

    Jesus’ birthday is actually in March some time.
    We are in reality commemorating the Roman Saturnalia, as noted by dylwah. Those early Xtans weren’t going to give up a good party.
    There isn’t a Xmas carol I can remember all the words of, but I find them all a bit passe.

  7. dylwah says:

    you too darlene, nice looking moggie

  8. David Rubie says:

    Worst Christmas song:

    McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmastime”.

    It makes the baby jesus cry.

  9. Nabakov says:

    “Snoopy’s Christmas – The Royal Guardsman (1966)”

    Good call by the Kiwis. It wasn’t within a sniff of the Royal Guardsmen’s masterwork “Snoppy Vs The Red Baron”.

  10. Nabakov says:

    Hmm…blast the boche…should have been a link there like this:

  11. Helen says:

    Can’t I hate Mariah Carey and the Chipmunks?

    I know, Christmas should be the season of goodwill.

    Merry Christmas to you miz Darlene!

  12. Darlene says:

    Cheers, Paul. This is why I had nothing useful to contribute to Kimberella’s post and just left it to the micks.

    Have a good hols.

    Yes, that’s me moggie. Got her from the Lort Smith Animal Hospital. I am sure after Christmas there will tons more potential pets on offer at places like the Lort Smith.

    I had completely forgotten about that song, David, but now it has popped into my head. Arghhhh, get it out, get it out.

    Oh my gosh, Snoopy vs the Red Baron. Arrrghhh, get it out, get it out.

    Happy hols, Nabakov. May you get one of those groupies you were bragging about in the other post for Christmas. Of course, they’d be considerably older by now. ; )

  13. Darlene says:

    Thanks you Missy Helen. And a happy holidays to you and yours.

    No, it’s a rule, you can’t hate Carey and the chipmunks. Sorry…..; )

  14. Paul Burns says:

    Used to sing a Xmas carol in Latin when I was at school.In the dark Menzian Age.

  15. TimT says:

    A few carols have latin in them – ‘In Dulce Jubilo’, most obviously:

    In Dulce Jubilo,
    We sing with hearts aglow:
    Our delight and pleasure
    Lies in praecipio:
    Alpha est et o-o-oh!
    Alpha est et o!

    Not quite sure what that means.

    I like some Chrissy carols, the older the better. Some grumbling about them here.

  16. Beppie says:

    I think the first line might mean something like “In sweet jubilation”.

  17. sarah says:

    All I Want for Christmas – Mariah Carey (1994)- I actually like this song!
    They were a bit nasty to poor old snoopy though 😦 I don’t think he deserved that…

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
