Wednesday Whimsy

This week’s Whimsy thread is hosted by the Belgian surrealist painter René Magritte.

A painting of a birdcage with an egg inside it instead of a bird.

René Magritte. Elective Affinities. 1933. Oil on canvas. 41 x 33 cm. Private collection.


The title is taken from the Johann Wolfgang von Goethe book Elective Affinities.[1]

Magritte had the following to say about this work:

One night, I woke up in a room in which a cage with a bird sleeping in it had been placed. A magnificent error caused me to see an egg in the cage, instead of the vanished bird. I then grasped a new and astonishing poetic secret, for the shock which I experienced had been provoked precisely by the affinity of two objects — the cage and the egg — to each other, whereas previously this shock had been caused by my bringing together two objects that were unrelated..[2]

1. ^ Gablik, Suzi, Magritte. Thames & Hudson, New York (2000), pg 101.
2. ^ Quoted in Paquet, Marcel, Magritte. Taschen (2006), Koln, Germany, pg. 26.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Please share any bits and pieces you have come across recently that have surprised, delighted, provoked or otherwise positively engaged you.

N.B. The weekly whimsy threads are a stoush-free zone.

About

writer, singer, webwrangler, blogger, comedy tragic | about.me/vivsmythe

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in levity
7 comments on “Wednesday Whimsy
  1. paul walter says:

    Hmmm…
    Cricket stumps stands for Howard, the Ancestral Patriarch.
    The yet unborn Budgie inside the giant egg in a cage is obviously Tony Abbott, someone who remains as yet cognitively and emotionally unborn.
    The single remaining stump upon which the inert mass is uncomfortably poised, represents the contingent nature of Abbott’s project.

  2. adamite says:

    Reg: What’s the point?
    Rene: What?
    Reg: What’s the point of painting a giant egg inside a cage?
    Rene: It is symbolic of our struggle against oppression.
    Reg: It’s symbolic of your struggle against reality.

    (Apologies to Monty Python)

  3. adrian says:

    I remember that skit!

    I don’t know if this is the brief, but a CD by a group called Mountain Man (Made the Harbor) comprised of three women whose voices blend like magic both surprised and delighted me.

  4. Helen says:

    Poor egg.

    I recently discovered the blogger Meloukhia, and her story, The Last Temptation of the Piano. It’s one of the weirdest tales I’ve seen on the net, and so well written. Now I can’t stop thinking about it and wondering what the explanation was.

    I also find it amusing (and whimsical) that the Last Tempation of Christ is a movie they repeatedly choose just to chill out to.

  5. adamite says:

    I was amused to read the other day that the opposition has stored (though apparently not caged) somewhere, a large number of replica lemons with Kevin Rudd’s face stamped on them. What to do? … recycle them as a gift for loved ones who has everything perhaps?

  6. Terangeree says:

    A whimsical thing I saw a few days ago.

  7. tigtog says:

    Nice, Terangeree. I do like amusing clocks.

    That link ended up taking me on a web-walk to here:

Comments are closed.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
